A blog post for my Japan-side readers.

I know I have been ignoring you guys for the past week or so. I have been heavy into some of my projects that regular readers know I have been involved in since late last year.

Next month I am going to be in Westchester[, New York state], actually seeing how the fruit of all my research bears out before a federal judge. One reason I never did lawyering as an occupation is that you can never be confident enough that you have covered all the bases. I think the format of law school soaks into you (or deluges you with) that style of thinking; and, once out, you can’t really wring that anxiety out of you, that comes with not being certain what the answer will be.

Monday’s U.S. Supreme Court cases really helped a lot to define that my project is NOT what the Justices where talking about, in that, if someone owes you money or a right from overseas, that they don’t have to worry about being haled into an American court. The cases were about torts (personal injuries) caused by defective tires or defective scrap-iron machinery, and the theory of jurisdiction was “stream of commerce”. Well, I am not a product or a piece of furniture. I’m the guy that didn’t get paid, and was on the empty end of what amounts to a contractual breach.

So, I might do a jurisdictional post sometime later this week, and you can use it if you are having trouble going to sleep some night.

[More: I don’t know how big a problem it is about foreigners not getting paid in Japan. I am beginning to suspect, from e-mails I get, that it’s more of a problem than people let on. It’s tough to admit to others that you trusted and got burned. And, you know, it’s a long slog if you want to be made whole. So I feel the problem is a bit bigger than what we in the expat, and ex-expat, community think.]

Leave a Reply

