Pennsylvania earthquake of August 2011!

If I weren’t home to feel it, I wouldn’t have believed it.

http://earthquake.usgs.gov/earthquakes/dyfi/events/us/c0005ild/us/index.html

I was sitting by the laptop, and all of the sudden the furniture starts to shake. The globe (with Japan facing me) starting rattling. As you know, Tokyo gets its share of tremors, and once you’ve experienced living in an earthquake zone (California, Alaska, etc.), you naturally get used to the idea that the Earth can shake. So, as it’s happening here in Lancaster County this fine sunny afternoon, one of the things to cross my mind is, “I’d say that Pennsylvania is having an earthquake!” I quickly thought about other possibilities: something happening to the house, or in the house, or maybe an explosion on the Turnpike (where was the sound?) Finally I hit the USGS site, and sure enough, there was a quake in Virginia.

It turns out that most of the Piedmont region of the East Coast felt it, as well as DC, New York and Philadelphia.

[Updated 7:05 pm: The earthquake has been downgraded to magnitude 5.8.]

6 comments

  1. mfa · August 23, 2011

    it happened

    • hoofin · August 23, 2011

      It reminded me of my days in Tokyo Japan.

  2. jack · August 23, 2011

    my chair was shaking up and down!

  3. Hiroshi · August 23, 2011

    I thought that the earthquakes followed me.
    I live in Tōkyō, but just got to Philadelphia on a business trip.
    People around me say that there are hardly ever any earthquakes here.

    • hoofin · August 23, 2011

      That is quite a coincidence, isn’t it? You got to experience both the March 11 and August 23 ones!

  4. Connor · August 24, 2011

    It wasent bad enough to cause death was it?? if so was there??

Leave a Reply

