“Hafu” – a documentary in progress about mixed-ethnicity Japanese

I caught this through Facebook:

According to the producers, one in every 30 49 babies born now in Japan is the child of one parent who isn’t ethnic Japanese. I am sure it’s been something like this for several years now, and there’s very little coming out about so-called “Hafu” (or “halfs”) as they live life in Japan.

I always wondered about this while I was in Japan (May 2005 – December 2010). I was not able to make a relationship, although I met a good number of really nice and really attractive Japanese women. (If you follow my blog daily, you know that the hindrance to making it in Japan is, generally, employment discrimination. We are not accorded equal protection of the laws, even though our military is there helping Japan and we open our markets and our immigration to Japanese. How do you start and raise a family when you can’t be even somewhat confident that you won’t be denied an income, just because you’re not Japanese?)

I want to avoid the DebitoTepido type spat, so I do acknowledge that some couples do “make it” in the Yamato kingdom. They have successful careers, don’t get divorced, have well-adjusted children and all of that. What I am telling you, though, is that that outcome, in my opinion, is really rare. That’s why a documentary like this would be really interesting.

The women above were looking to raise 1,000,000 yen to do the project, and I think they got 1,700,000 so far (in dollars, $23,000). This shows that a lot of people would be looking for a story like the one they hope to tell.

Be on the lookout for “Half”.

[Update 11/25/13: I finally saw this, Saturday night. It’s great! Here is a YouTube excerpt of vital stats on Japanese overseas, foreigners in Japan, and mixed ethnicity.

One comment

  1. hoofin · November 25, 2013

    Reblogged this on Hoofin and commented:

    I wrote this post about two years ago. Saturday night, I was actually able to see the movie at a showing in Philadelphia. If Hafu comes to your area, it is definitely worth seeing, even if issues of equal protection and fundamental fairness in Japan aren’t your bag. Since I lived there for over 5 years, I could relate to the personal stories. Plus I know any number of “hafu” or their parents!

Leave a Reply

