Twelve Forty-plus pounds lost. Reason? No wheat.

A follow up to my earlier talk about the Wheat Belly Blog and Dr. William Davis.

Around March, I decided to cut back on eating wheat, because of the gluten protein. There is a concern among my extended family and friends about how hard or easy it is to digest wheat gluten. (Many grains have glutens, but when people are talking about “gluten free”, they usually mean wheat gluten.)

This was before I had discovered “Wheat Belly” or any of Dr. Davis’ writings. I found his work about seven pounds in.

The central premise, that eating contemporary, semi-dwarf wheat causes you to want to eat more (appetite stimulant) is pretty convincing to me. One thing about not eating wheat, is that you tend to not want to eat so much in general. Well, I’m eating everything but wheat. A cold cut sandwich is just the cold cuts. Peanut butter and Jelly is on a gluten-free bread.

The claim, as I said, is that people who go wheat-free consume, on average, 440 calories less a day. So this is enough to affect maybe 0.1 pounds (0.05 kgs) per day. Over a year, nearly 40 pounds or 18 kilograms.

It will be something to see how and where this goes. It’s not like I haven’t lost 12 pounds before, in the last 20 years or so. If I lose another 12, that will be unusual.

It is hard to know if you can lose weight by not eating wheat, when the difference amounts to 0.1 pound a day. Just natural changes throughout the day probably move the average person up or down 2 pounds. So it’s a matter of hitting lower highs and lower lows over the course of some number of weeks. People who write online, about having lost three or four pounds in the first week, might be talking about changes that came from reduced inflammation, since wheat can be inflammatory.

If contemporary wheat (the semi-dwarf version that appeared sometime in the 1970’s or ’80’s) is causing such trouble, why isn’t the government on top of it? They rightly chase after all these unusual chemicals that we don’t know much about except that they’re harmful in [these even] less than minute doses; but a grain that really came on the scene very recently gets a free pass.

[Update 7/10/12: This is now about fifteen pounds.]

[Update 7/24/12: Eighteen pounds.]

[Update 8/8/12: Twenty-two pounds.]

[Update 9/4/12: Thirty pounds.]

[Update 10/7/12: This is now forty pounds.]

[Update 12/10/12: At some point in October, the weight loss stabilized around 43 pounds. Now I am maintaining that weight. Incredible!]

[Update 10/6/13: One year later, I have kept about a 40 pound loss. I am within five pounds of the contemporary low for my weight, which is 195 lbs.]

6 comments

  1. Mustang.Koji · June 22, 2012

    Of all the people that need to lose weight, I am one. Understanding your blog is of “wheat” gluten, is “gluten” fueling the Japanese to cut down on white rice and go with brown rice?

    • hoofin · June 22, 2012

      Koji, I don’t know. When I was in Japan, I saw that younger Japanese, especially, were having a bit of trouble with weight (but NOTHING like in America). There are plenty of wheat products in Japan—even though most of the farms around Tokyo grew rice. I would bet that part of the problem is the wheat that has been introduced into the Japanese diet.

  2. Pingback: How bad is wheat, really? | Hoofin to You!
  3. Pingback: Delete the wheat update: 18 pounds lost. | Hoofin
  4. heidi downer · January 9, 2013

    It is awesome that you have lost 40 lbs! Congratulations! I too am trying to be wheat free, I have only been doing this for a few days… Hope to have the success that you did!

  5. Pingback: The answer is easy: don’t eat wheat! | Hoofin

Leave a Reply

