How bad is wheat, really?

Picking up on the post from yesterday, I would have to say it’s something you want to eat less of, rather than more.

I’m trying to think back to my diet when I first went to Japan (May 2005). I know, I did hit the McDonald’s a couple of times. But I think I moved from a diet with (at least) a whole grain wheat sandwich or two a day, to one where the onigiri (rice ball) at the convenience store was the main staple. I know I ate more rice. I had been eating sushi in America, so maybe not more fish.

There was a story I was telling, where I had visited the clinic in Aoyama, looking to get a check up. People back home thought it might be a good idea. They did a blood test, and took my weight. It was 227. I was so excited, because that was actually down from where it had been a month before. (The doc was going, “hyaku san kilo! Hyaku san kilo!” and I’m saying, yasemasu! (103 kilograms! I lost weight!)

I know I got down to about 220 that summer, but it inevitably came back, and more (shy side of 240, let’s say). I just chalked it up to middle age. Beer and wine, too, because I had been an abstainer for most all my life. It could very well have been wheat, though. If you hang with Japanese friends a lot, you get taken around to a number of really good restaurants. You can really eat in Japan, believe it or not.

When I think back over 30 years, it was always the times when I had a change in how much bread I ate, that’s when I either gained the pounds, lost some, gained it back, etc. My Philadelphia years were the worst, (college, law school–maybe going from 170 to 260); but that’s when I ate a lot of fast food, or other packaged food. I slimmed down after Philly (and remember, for me, “slim” is when I’m excited the doctor is telling me it’s 227). Now–knowing a lot more about Wheat Belly from Doctor Davis—I wonder if I can actually hit lower lows while seeing lower highs.

Leave a Reply

