When did “thanks for everything you do” replace “thank you” as a way to say thanks?

This happened sometime while I was in Japan.

I am more politically aware than the average bear, you know, so I am on all the e-mail spam lists for progressive and Democratic things. On more and more of these messages, the writer signs off with something like “thanks for all you do!” This is so, even when I am not really doing anything.

As a child of the 1970s–or maybe, a child in the 1970s–whenever I read that closing, you know what I can’t help thinking? Yes, an advertising jingle:

For all you do, this Bud’s for you.

We had that drummed into us in the New York metro area during Yankee baseball. Budweiser was a sponsor, and when the team hit a home run, one of the announcers got the Budweiser promo into the play-by-play somehow.

So whenever I get told, “for everything you do”, I am expecting someone to say, “this Bud’s for you”.

If these political e-mails ended with “You’re like a good neighbor to us”, I would have to wonder why the State Farm banner ad was missing.

It’s like there’s no creativity to it. A rehash of someone else’s catchy phrase from 40 or 50 years ago.

I realize that spam e-mail is going out to millions. Yet, someone wants to make it sound personal. So that’s why you get the “for all you do” thrown in. It’s an attaboy, like what we do to our military by calling them “the heroes”. It gets overused so damn much, that it loses any sense of heartfelt feeling. It may be honest feeling, but away from heartfelt. Impersonal.

If I could have it my way, I would get the break I deserve today and receive fewer of these just-for-the-sound-of-it cute valedictions.

2 comments

  1. Timothy · August 6, 2012

    Thanks for everything you write. You are the wind beneath my wings.

    • hoofin · August 6, 2012

      Here’s to good fans.

Leave a Reply

