Sugar, that carb of evil.

While picking up the Romney-Ryan rollout on the Sunday show, I caught the 60 Minutes piece studying how fructose and its cousin sucrose impact the body’s metabolic system.

I had never heard of Robert Lustig, MD, but he was featured in the piece.

Dr. Lustig says that sugar is a toxin. He is the presenter in this famous YouTube video, “Sugar, the Bitter Truth”. It is kind of a “scared straight” for people who like their candy bars, soft drinks and juices.

As regular readers know, I recently cut out wheat from my diet. Now, through mainstream media, I am hooked into the anti-sugar resources that are available on the internet, and have second thoughts about how meritorious that half-a-Snickers-bar is every day. (I either eat half of a 280 calorie, regular size bar, or one of the 220 calorie pieces in the double pack. That was my junk food fix.)

As a very small and rather insignificant character on the internet, I know that people who disagree with what you have to say may brand one as an “internet crank” and/or “conspiracy theorist”. That seems to be part and parcel of this medium when someone disagrees with what you have to say. But what’s interesting about both the anti-wheat and anti-sugar, ehem, “theories”, is that there isn’t a whole lot debunking what is being presented as an idea.

When I was getting an education, this is how I understood science to work: someone posits an idea, and then people go to work testing whether the idea is valid or not. It appears, for sugar, that this is what was going on in the 60 Minutes segment. Since Dr. Lustig’s anti-sugar YouTube item became a presence in 2009, that means, what, three years? I wonder when schools of nutrition will start the double-blind tests for wheat.

Either way, I’m not waiting around. Lustig says that the Japanese traditional diet does not include fructose. And, you know, when the Japanese started adding in our Western diet–including the fructose–a lot of the weight-related illnesses that we have in our country started popping up there, too. I met several people in Tokyo who avoid our crap food, and so I know it’s possible to eat very little fructose or sucrose–maybe just the amount you get in a fruit.

Leave a Reply

